Dog Teeth Brushing, First Tram Ride and Dog Microchipping for Havanese in Budapest


Momo the bison havanese in Budapest

Dentastick (Pedigree) 

About every month, Jodee will buy these Dentasticks for me. I love these Dentasticks, usually I will ‘brush’ my teeth with one of them by myself. In a way, it is like a ‘treat’ to me. Other than the regular grooming which I get every one or two weeks, I think dogs need to brush teeth so as to smell good in the breath!

Momo the bison havanese in BudapestMarkies (Pedigree)

The other treat that I had been having since ten weeks old is the Pedigree Markies. They are so delicious and I will surely get one right after my ‘pee or poo’. Living in the downtown, I am normally guided by Jodee or Zsolt to do my ‘business’. When we used to live in a family house, I just do my business anywhere I like on the lawn.

That’s the lawn, you can see how Zsolt had to take care of it:

For the downtown, Jodee or Zsolt besides walking me, they need to pick up the poo. I think they are very considerate dog owners.

Of course on the Budapest street walk, there are dog owners who don’t pick up after their dog. Even though there are dog boxes with dog bags supplied. Sometimes, the dog bags ran out, but it is not an excuse since the dog owner has to bring with them some dog poo bags just in case. There are some sure to bring items when you walk your dog and this is one of them.

For longer distances, you must bring some water and a dish for your dog to quench its thirst. I am grateful when Jodee even bring along one of my favourite chew toys if the distance is further away from home. Or we will have to be there for more than three hours.

Momo the bison havanese in Budapest
Being watched
Originally uploaded by zsoolt

The first tram ride for a Havanese

I was rather calm for the first tram ride. However, the second time, I was more cuddly than before and I kept clinging on to Jodee. She held me in her arms. Before boarding, Zsolt was carrying me in his strong arms. I like when I am in Zsolt’s arms as he is much taller and I love being high up where I can have a better view 😉 This was taken at Petõfi híd budai hídfõ tram stop in Budapest.

Belton: I have the Ticking Gene

Momo the bison havanese in Budapest
momo
Originally uploaded by zannnielim

Jodee found an information on the forum about Havanese that I can go through many colour changes for my coat. It is called ‘Belton‘ or a ticking gene. Here is the link 🙂 to share with you.


Is Microchipping for dogs painful?

Dog (or even cat) microchipping is a simple procedure. My veterinarian simply injected a microchip for me in about 2 seconds. The microchip is the size of a grain of rice (12mm). So I had my permanent pet ID beneath the surface of my skin between the shoulder blades.

The process was similar to a routine shot, and I just made a little ‘squeak’ thinking it was a vaccination. No anesthetic was necessary.

Jodee read that the microchip itself has no internal energy source, so it will last my entire life.

My new vet is at the Andrassy ut. 81, we just took a few minutes walk to get there from where we live.

Basically the procedure were very standard. The vet did a test read of it by passing a microchip scanner over my shoulder blades. He did that once before injecting it and also after. The scanner emits a low radio frequency that provides the power necessary to transmit the microchips unique dog ID code and positively identify me.

Momo the bison havanese in Budapest

This is how small it is, 12mm, like a rice grain

Now Zsolt and Jodee will not risk losing me. I’m too adorable as their pet to get missing. Just that from this Thursday on, it is obligatory to microchip all pet dogs in Hungary. The timing for mine was just perfect while I have to go for my yearly vaccination for the Rabies and LEPTO and the DHHPi.

As usual, I was given a deworming tablet for which Jodee crushed and mixed them into my favourite chicken lunch 🙂

If you find any lost pet dogs (or even cats), simply bring it to an animal shelter or veterinarian, where they will scan the microchip to read its unique dog or cat ID code. This is the number used to identify the pet and retrieve its owner’s contact information, which is used to contact the owner and reunite him with his pet.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment